Propaganda and/or Persuasion

Task: Find and embed a video clip in your blog post that highlights elements of persuasion and/or propaganda. Discuss the various elements with respect to the video. Is the video effective or ineffective?

Dictionary.com defines propaganda as “information, ideas, or rumors deliberately spread widely to help or harm a person, group, movement, institution, nation, etc.” and persuasion as “inducing belief by appealing to reason or understanding; to convice.” I feel like this anti-bullying PSA is an example of both propaganda and persuasion. To me, it’s propaganda because it is deliberately making an effort to get information to the masses to help victims of bullying. The add is trying to persuade adults to teach their children words like respect and responsibility and other positive words to help prevent bullying. The message was clear, simple, and direct and easily understandable. Timing is key and there is never really a bad time for an anti-bullying PSA. The source credibility is on par because the people in the ad have either been bullied or are adults of children that have been bullied, so they know how much bullying can effect someone, especially a child.

Is this message effective or uneffective? I feel like it depends. It effects me because I strongly disagree with bullying and hearing of children and young teens committing suicide because of the excessive bullying really just breaks my heart. It effects me because I want to put a stop to it. The message could come across as uneffective if a parent of a bully sees this PSA and chooses to turn a blind eye and allow their child to continue down the path they are on as a bully. Overall, I do say the ad is effective.

Help stop bullying.

www.youtube.com
www.dictionary.com

6 thoughts on “Propaganda and/or Persuasion

  1. Oh, this ad is strongly effective. I don’t see anything wrong with this ad at all because I wouldn’t consider it to be a propaganda. Michelle, I believe that bullying and cyber bullying is harnessing students from elementary schools to high schools. This ad can give the public a taste of how people are affected by bullying and how to prevent it. I want to say that this is a very great ad to show students that bullying is unacceptable.

  2. Michelle I agree with the other comment saying this ad is incredibly effective. Though I can’t say I’ve had any personal experience with bullying I have seen it happen. I wish I had intervened but I am sad to say that I didn’t. I didn’t want to intervene at the time because I thought if I did I would be bullied too so I chose to turn away from it. It breaks my heart too to think of kids being bullied and feeling like they are worthless. I wish it could stop and that more kids would intervene. This is a problem that needs to be addressed but it is much easier said than done.

  3. I don’t believe that this is an effective ad against bullying, because the people bullying are obviously not empathetic in nature and therefore wouldn’t care for the victims. It is a nice attempt and maybe would change some people’s mind, but I don’t believe it would work on a majority of bullies. To stop bullying, i believe you have to go after the bullies themselves. Show the consequences of bullying and have stricter punishments for those who bully. But ultimately it comes down to parenting, and this is where I feel the message is effective. By getting parents to teach their kids about both sides of bullying and lead a healthy life example for thier kids, that’s how we stop bullying. Not only would that put an end to bullying but it will also help other problems in the world.

  4. Pingback: Comments « jraz447

  5. I agree with the fact that this ad is propaganda because it makes you feel guilty so that you care (Not that there is anything wrong with that. People should care). But I also with jrazz447’s comment about it not being effective because the goal is to end bullying and I feel the bullies themselves and their parents aren’t going to effected by this.

  6. Pingback: Comments for “persuasion and propaganda” « kadia18

Leave a Reply

