Beneficial? I think so.

Task: Provide an argument as to why it is/or is not beneficial for a non-public relations major to complete an introductory level public relations course.

I feel that an introductory level PR course would be beneficial for non-PR majors, but only depending upon the major. I am a journalism major and the only reason I’m in this course is because I chose PR as a minor. I feel the PR course could come in handy if you are a communication major of some sort and possibly even business majors, such as marketing and/or advertising majors. The academic “definition” for PRCA 2330 at Georgia Southern says that this course, “Introduces the history, theories, and principles of public relations, and the role and practice of public relations in various organizational contexts.” As an education or nursing major, where would any of those aspects of the topic or class ever overlap into your regular classes or day-to-day work life? On the whole, it wouldn’t. I’m taking a business class right now which has zero to do with my major, 1. because I needed an extra 3 hour course and 2. because I in some way, shape or form thought the things I would learn in the course could come in handy in the future. My business teacher talks about PR a lot when we talk about different parts of business so I do think the PRCA 2330 or any other introductory level PR course would be beneficial or at least helpful for communication and/or business majors.

https://my.georgiasouthern.edu/courses/detail.php?course_crn=83228&course_term=201108

4 thoughts on “Beneficial? I think so.

  1. I definitely agree with your opinion. I think because of so much downsizing and outsourcing that has been happening over the past few years that many jobs are now encompassing other tasks that at one time would have been assigned to a particular person in that position but who may no longer be there. I will definitely have to think about taking a business class as an elective for the future as well to hopefully aid in my future working in communications.

  2. I agree with you. I think it does depend on the major if this class will come in hand for people. Art majors, as well as interior design and such probably couldn’t benefit from intro to PR. The only part of our class I could see them benefiting from is crisis management. Everyone comes across a crisis at some point in their life and could really use help with how to get through it.

  3. I agree that PR is very beneficial to communications major. I am a Comm Arts major and found this course very helpful and it even made me want to look into a possible career in public relations.

  4. There are a lot of people that say having a business minor is a good idea for any major because if not all, then a lot of us will eventually be involved in the business world. Taking a PR course would also be beneficial as an elective or a minor as well because the two go hand in hand. PR and journalism are almost complete opposites because PR is and advocate for a business while journalism tries to expose and investigate. It’s interesting that you’re a journalism major that went with a pr minor. I can’t wait to see what you do with those in your career.

Leave a Reply

