Week 1

Cell phone technology–

I would have to say I’m pretty up-to-date on cell phone technology. I have an iPhone and it’s usually attached to me. I use it to check Twitter, Facebook, both of my email accounts, bank accounts, sports and news. I have eight news organizations’ apps on my phone so I’m able to check multiple organizations at once. I check the news organization apps probably once or twice a day and check things like Twitter continously throughout the day.

The biggest pro of having all of this information at our fingertips would definitely be convenience. Nothing is more convenient than sitting at a red light and craving a milkshake and checking your bank account to see if you can get one or not. It’s also convenient to be able to access emails at all times. Other pros include being up-to-date on news as it’s happening. There is a feature on most news organizations’ apps to where they notify you everytime there is breaking news or you can change the notifications to where they only notify you about certain topics like politics. This same pro could fall under the “convenience” aspect.

One huge con to having these things at our fingertips is that we are disconnected from the people around us. We hide behind our phone screens in class, walking on campus, or waiting at an airport. We also choose texting versus an actual conversation on the phone. We also rely too heavily on our phones for literally everything. It’s how we stay connected with everyone and everything. No one has house phones anymore so if you’re cell phone is dead or is broken, you have no way to communicate with others if say you didn’t have a computer handy. All in all, we are just too reliant on cell phones.

11 thoughts on “Week 1

  1. Hey Michelle,

    I can’t believe you are synced up with 8 different news outlets! That’s crazy! I am pretty sure I would freak out if my phone went off that much. I completely agree with you about loosing touch with people. I think the disconnection stems further than cell phones, think about dating now a days. lots of people meet their significant other online. Face to face communication has become a thing of the past. Don’t get me wrong I enjoy technology just as much as the next person but I really hope society can find a middle ground.

  2. 8 outlets?! Wow, that’s impressive. I think i’m running with about four right now and my phone seems like it never shuts up. Have you seen the commercials/teasers for the iPhone5’s yet? I can’t decide what’s actually possible for Apple and what’s hype. Either way, I’m sure people will be lining up around the corner, and the next corner, and the next corner for the next installment of Apple’s cellular technology dominance.

  3. I’m glad you mentioned the pro of being able to check your bank account on your iphone. I forgot to mention that, but I check my bank accounts all the time. It is a great convenience and one that keeps me from spending more than what I have. I also agree with you about losing touch with people. I work at a restaurant, and it is so annoying to me to see how many people stay on their phone throughout the entire meal. At one time dinner was suposed to be a time for catching up on the days events with friends or family. Not anymore.

  4. Pingback: cell phone technology (comments on classmate’s posts) « candiceblount

  5. HAHA I completely agree, Michelle! I always have my phone handy and if i don’t, I feel like I’m missing something. I feel as if there is something going on in the world that I am unaware of! It’s a terrible feeling. I do feel as if we are way too reliable on cell phones, though. Don’t get me wrong, I love to have the world at my fingertips, but it is scary to think that it is hard to function without a piece of hardware permanently attached to my hand. I mean my iPhone crashed two days ago and I was left without a way to communicate for literally 24 hours and I thought I was going crazy. I was constantly looking for it whenever I would get up to go somewhere and thinking I was feeling it vibrate when clearly it was dead. I agree, though, that there are some serious pros and cons to having such technologies, but as for me, I like it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. Pingback: Comments PRCA 3330 « brittanyforrester

  7. I definitely agree that we are disconnected from the people around us! Sometimes if I am with a group of girlfriends, we will all be on our phones and not even communicating with each other! I also agree that our generation and younger generations are lacking personal skills because all young people do is text! I have read that it is becoming more difficult for young people to be hired by older generations because they are not impressed by our social skills. I personally think this is scary stuf and change needs to happen!

  8. I completely agree with you, the day I forget my phone home my day literally seems to drag by. We heavily rely on our phones for almost everything. Smartphone’s have given us so many shortcuts and one of them is texting. Texting has not only affected our social skills but also our language. I hear so many people say LOL when they are having face to face conversation than actually laughing it out. Smartphone’s are also keeping us distant from our surroundings and from the people around us. However, in spite of their cons life without them seems impossible.

  9. Pingback: Smartphone Technology- Peer Comments « dshah029

  10. We are so similar in our Cell Phone Ways! I really enjoy following your Twitter account. I can’t wait for the Twitter module of this class so we can start following others! I agree that accessing emails all the time is the most convenient thing in the world. Unfortunately, my phone deleted one of my accounts and I no longer have access! It is amazing how annoying and inconvenient that is.

  11. Pingback: Week One Peer Comments « Tarleton West

Leave a Reply

