Social media and PR – Week 4

Social-Media-PRIn my opinion, social media has changed the PR world for the better—for the most part. Social media allows PR professionals to easily and quickly access competitors as well as address crisis situations in an instant. Before social media, PR professionals burned a lot of shoe leather to keep up with what was going on with their clients and their client’s competitors. While social media is readily available for anyone to use, knowing how to effectively use them requires some knowledge, more in-depth knowledge, than just how to post a tweet or Facebook status. Knowing strategies to properly disseminate information is crucial and those strategies are taught to PR students. I find it incredibly important that someone in charge of disseminating information via a company’s social media platforms has a background in PR, even if it’s a couple of classes. Those few classes can still provide someone with the basic knowledge on how to effectively work with a client or an audience. Employing social media managers who have no background in PR is like allowing me to work on my own car. I have less than impressive knowledge of cars and how to work on them. I’m sure if I tinkered around with a car long enough, I’d eventually figure out how to do the task, right? Sure. But in PR, there isn’t much room for error and tinkering around on social media is a little reckless. One wrong move could be detrimental to a client.

 

Photo courtesy of Elevate.

6 thoughts on “Social media and PR – Week 4

  1. I agree that is great that PR professionals are able to keep up with their competitors over social media! It makes things so much easier when you are trying to get an idea of what is going on within your industry!

  2. I definitely agree with you in that its like me working on my own car… I could probably figure it out; it wouldn’t be the most efficient or must successful option, but I could do it. I believe if a company is going to create a social media account, they should manage it to where they will receive some benefit from it. My client, Hershey’s, clearly has no idea how to manage crisis communication, positive feedback, or any interaction at all, for that matter. They would really benefit from employing SEO-strategies, that would increase followership.

  3. Pingback: Week 4 Responses | hannahpweaver

  4. I LOVE your example about the car, “Employing social media managers who have no background in PR is like allowing me to work on my own car. I have less than impressive knowledge of cars and how to work on them. I’m sure if I tinkered around with a car long enough, I’d eventually figure out how to do the task, right?”! This is a perfect example about how hiring someone who does not specialize in what you need could be a disaster. Yeah we could MAYBE figure it out without a background in it but on the safe side and to avoid future accidents it is better to let a professional do it.

  5. I love the anaolgy about working on your own car. It really is the same concept, but because PR professionals don’t have a formula like accountants or a manual like someone who works on cars, people tend to think it’s all common knowledge. Sure, how to work your way around Facebook is readily availible to the general public, but how to take that site and make it work for your company is another set of skills that someone with a background in PR would know.

  6. Pingback: Peer Comments – Social Media and PR | Carrie Blackwell's Blog

Leave a Reply

